India v England: Visitors named unchanged squad for series

England, 26 Oct – England have named an unchanged Test squad for their tour of India.

All-time leading wicket-taker James Anderson will miss the first Test in Rajkot starting on 9 November and is a doubt for the second in Visakhapatnam.

That means Jake Ball remains with the squad after being added to the party for the current tour of Bangladesh.

England completed a 22-run victory in the first Test on Monday, with the second beginning in Dhaka on Friday.

Alastair Cook, whose side follow the two-Test series in Bangladesh with five Tests in India before Christmas, has said players are likely to be rotated this winter.

England squad: Alastair Cook (capt), Moeen Ali, Zafar Ansari, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.

England’s Tests in India


9-13 1st Test, Rajkot

17-21 2nd Test, Visakhapatnam

26-30 3rd Test, Mohali


8-12 4th Test, Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium)

16-20 5th Test, Chennai