Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Lumbini Province CM Pokharel to face no trust motion


Butwal, 19 April (2021) - No confidence motion against Lumbini Province Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel has been registered on Monday.

Members of Provincial Assembly (MPA) from Nepali Congress, CPN-Maoist Centre and Janata Samajwadi Party filed the no trust motion at Provincial Assembly Secretariat, Assembly Secretary Durlabh Kumar Pun informed Lokantar.

The no confidence motion has been signed by 41 MPAs and Kul Bahadur KC from Maoist Centre has been proposed as the new chief minister.

KC is Minister of Internal Affairs and Law in CM Pokharel-led government.

There are a total of 87 MPAs in Lumbing Provincial Assembly. Two MPAs joining CPN-UML from Maoist Centre have lost their posts.

CM Pokharel needs two more MPAs to remain in power.

Nepali Congress has 19, Maoits Centre has 18, JaSaPa has seven and RaJaMo has three MPAs.