Thursday, September 23, 2021

Election Commission grants legitimacy to Upendra Yadav faction of JSP


Kathmandu, 26 July (2021) - The Election Commission of Nepal has granted legitimacy to the Upendra Yadav faction of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) on Monday.

The Commission arrived at the decision after verifying the signatures of the central working committee of the party.

Upendra faction received 34 signatures while Mahantha Thakur faction got 16 signatures. One member Resham Chaudhary remained neutral.

Thakur faction has been asked to submit an application with all required details if it wants to register a new party, deputy spokesperson of the commission Komal Prasad Dhamala said.

The joint bench of Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Prasad Thapaliya, commissioners Ishwori Prasad Paudyal, Ram Prasad Bhandari, Dr Janaki Kumari Tuladhar and Sagun Shumsher JB Rana arrived at the decision to grant legitimacy to Upendra Yadav faction.

Since more than the required majority of members signed in favour of Yadav, the commission issued the decision.

Upendra Yadav faction is now in possession of party name, election symbol and official letter pad.