Thursday, January 20, 2022

NC CWC meeting tomorrow, President nominates three on Committee


Kathmandu, 2 January (2022) - The Nepali Congress NC) has planned its Central Working Committee (CWC) meeting for 2:00 pm Monday. 

According to party office chief secretary Krishna Prasad Poudel, the meeting has been scheduled to take place at the party central office, Sanepa. This is the second meeting of the party CWC elected through the recent party’s General Convention (December 10-14).  The first meeting was organized on December 25. 

Meanwhile, Prime Minister and party President Sher Bahadur Deuba has nominated party leaders Jeevan Bahadur Shahi, Pradeep Poudel and Kalyan Kumar Gurung as the party central members. 

The party source said Deuba, who was reelected on the post through the General Convention, nominated the three on the CWC as per the Clause 21 (10) of the party statute, 2017 (amended).  

It may be noted that Gurung lost the election for the party president, Poudel for general secretary and Shahi for the joint general secretary during the General Convention. 

Prior to this, party senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel, leaders Prakashman Singh, Bimalendra Nidhi, Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, Dr Narayan Khadka, Uma Regmi, Sujata Koirala and Meen Bahadur Bishwakarma were nominated on the CWC committee by the President. 

The General Convention elected a 134-member CWC comprising 13 office bearers. 

As per the provision, the central party President shall elect 33 members on the CWC.