Sunday, May 22, 2022

Special committee formed to decide name, capital of Province 2 to table report in today's Provincial Assembly meeting


Janakpur, 16 January (2022) - A special committee formed to carry out a study on deciding the name and capital of Province 2 is scheduled to table its report in a meeting of the Provincial Assembly of the province taking place today at 11 am. 

The committee led by Speaker of the province Saroj Kumar Yadav held discussions on the matter with various political parties and the Provincial Assembly members, but failed to garner a consensus. 

So in the meeting, a deliberation on the proposal to this effect put forward by the Provincial Assembly members would take place and the matter would go to election, said secretary of the Provincial Assembly Secretariat Ranjit Kumar Yadav. 

The committee tried to find a consensus on the name and capital of the province from among various proposals—Madhes, Janaki, Mithila Bhojpura and Madya Madhes (the name of the province) and Janakpur and Birgunj (capital of the province). According to the provision, it requires two-thirds votes to pass the name and capital of a province.