Friday, March 1, 2024

Five litterateurs honoured


Baglung, 24 February (2023) - The 'Ratna-Shrestha Award Guthi' in Baglung district has honoured five litterateurs with various awards. Litterateur Dr Shankar Prasad Gaire has bagged the 'Ratna-Shrestha National Award, 2079'. He won the award for his novel 'Krishna'. The award carried a purse of Rs 50,000. 

Similarly, writers Saroj Raj Panta and Surya Nath Sapkota were honoured with the 'Ratna-Shrestha Provincial Award'. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 12,000. Litterateur Krishna Baniya won the 'Dhawalagiri Talent Award' for his work 'Bisangati Aviruchi', said the Guthi's member secretary Mahesh Chandra Pradhan. It carries a purse of Rs 15,000. 

Litterateur Ruku Karki was honoured with the 'Jagat Chandra Memorial National Award' carrying a cash prize of Rs 25,000. The Guthi's founding custodian Prem Chhota handed awards, shawls and certificates to all honoured litterateurs amid a function in Baglung on Thursday. 

Provided every two years, litterateur Chhota set up the awards in 2034 BS in memory of his late mother Ratna Kumari Shrestha. The Guthi was established in a bid to honour literary figures, who have contributed to uplift Nepali language, litterateur and culture, he said. 

Meanwhile on the occasion, Shuvan Panta at Paramananda Sanyas Ashram at Kathekhola-5 was honoured with the 'Guru Ganesh Memorial Award'. Established in memory of Ganesh Prasad Shrestha and Bishnu Kumari Shrestha of Baglung district, the award carries a cash prize of Rs 8,000.