Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Vice President's election: Vote counting begins


Kathmandu, 17 March (2023) - The counting of votes under the election to the Vice President has begun at the Lhotse hall of the New Baneshwor-based Federal Parliament Building. 

The voting that had begun at 10:00 am today concluded at 3:00 pm and a total of 311 federal lawmakers and 518 PA members took part in the voting.  

The number of voters was 332 from the Federal Parliament and 550 from the Province level in the Vice President's election. The vote counting is in progress in separate chambers and the results will be published by this evening, according to the Election Commission. 

Astalaxmi Shakya (Bohara) of the CPN (UML), Mamata Jha of the Janamat Party and Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav of the Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal are in the race for the Vice Presidential election.

The voting weightage of a Federal Parliament member is 79 followed by 48 of a PA member. 

According to the Constitution, the functions to be performed by the President shall be performed by the Vice-president during the absence of the President and the term of the Vice President is five years from the date which he or she is so elected.